APSEA (Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority)

The following is excerpted from the APSEA website:

The Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority (APSEA) is an interprovincial cooperative agency established in 1975 by joint agreement among the Ministers of Education of New Brunswick, Newfoundland,  Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island.

The agreement provided for the creation of the Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority and authorized it to provide educational services, programs, and opportunities for persons from birth to 21 years of age with low incidence sensory impairments.  This includes children and youth who are deaf, deaf-blind, hard of hearing, blind, or visually impaired and who are residents of Atlantic Canada.

The Board (of Directors of APSEA) voluntarily recognizes the Union (Nova Scotia Teachers Union) as the exclusive bargaining agent for and on behalf of all teachers employed by the Board, provided the majority of the teachers are members of the Union and further provided however that such voluntary recognition shall not in any event constitute or be deemed to constitute a voluntary recognition pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 19 of the Statutes of Nova Scotia 1972, the Trade Union Act.

Following is the Collective Agreement between the Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority and the Nova Scotia Teachers Union effective until July 31, 2020:

Collective Agreement