Statutory, Quasi-Statutory and Contractual

Standing Committees required by law, allowed for by law, or required by agreement fall within this category of committees.

Discipline Committee

May adjudicate conduct of Union members which is inimical to the interests of the Union. Members are appointed at Annual Council.

  • Nadine Arnold, Colchester-East Hants, 2021
  • Chad Warren, Yarmouth, 2021
  • Terry Ryan, Halifax City, 2022
  • Paulette O'Connor, Halifax City, 2023
  • Sheri Scott, Halifax County, 2023
  • Simon Wilkin, Acting Executive Director

Distributed Learning Committee

  • Eliza Abbass, Pictou, 2021
  • Vince Jessome, Inverness, 2022
  • Andrea Small, Cumberland, 2023
  • Simon Wilkin, NSTU Staff Liaison

Professional Committee

Investigates charges of conduct unbecoming a member of the teaching profession. Appointed by NSTU Annual Council.

  • Lindsay Ross, Cape Breton District, 2021
  • Tara McCormick, CSANE, 2021
  • Gillian Costello, Dartmouth, 2022
  • Paula Landry, Richmond, 2022
  • Kenna MacLean, Cape Breton District, 2023
  • Dawn Spracklin, Cape Breton District, 2023
  • Simon Wilkin, Acting Executive Director

Program Development Assistance Fund (PDAF)

Committee Reviews applications for financial assistance to support innovative curriculum projects and awards grants to successful applicants.

  • Krista Moore, Digby, 2021
  • Theresa Jennings, Dartmouth, 2022
  • Lael Radkey, Department of Education
  • Roy Bourgeois, CSAP
  • Miguelle Légère, Chair, NSTU Staff Liaison