May 23, 2018

Teachers’ Union to hold second ballot for NSTU presidential election

Public school teachers, Nova Scotia Community College faculty and professional support staff, and NSTU members working for the Atlantic Provinces’ Special Education Authority will vote in a run-off election for the presidency of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union on Thursday, May 31.

The first round of voting by members of the NSTU was conducted electronically today, but did not produce a winner. To become president of the NSTU, a candidate must win with a majority of votes (50 per cent + 1).

Grant Frost and Paul Wozney are candidates for the second ballot. Three other members from today’s first ballot, Cherie Abriel, Liette Doucet, and Shawn Hanifan, have been dropped from the slate.

Seventy per-cent of NSTU’s membership participated in the electronic vote. The May 31st run- off election will again be conducted using on-line voting.