May 23, 2018

NSTU members vote for president

An election by universal suffrage for the next president of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union will take place today Wednesday, May 23. Voting by the 10,700 members of the NSTU will be conducted electronically. Polls opened at 6:00 a.m. and close at 8:00 p.m.

Under the Teachers’ Collective Bargaining Act, all NSTU members employed on the designated voting day are eligible to vote, including members on educational or deferred salary leave, or active reserve members. Substitute teachers and auxiliary members employed on election day are also eligible to vote on voting day.

Five NSTU members are running for the two-year position as NSTU president: Cherie Abriel, incumbent Liette Doucet, Grant Frost, Shawn Hanifen, and Paul Wozney.

The next president’s two-year term will begin on August 1, 2018. The NSTU will announce the results of the vote this evening by 9:00 p.m., barring any unforeseen technical issues.

A run-off vote between the top two candidates is scheduled for Thursday, May 31, if necessary. To become president of the NSTU, a candidate must win with a majority of votes (50 per cent + 1).