May 31, 2018

NSTU to vote for new president

Public school teachers, Nova Scotia Community College faculty and professional support staff, and NSTU members working for the Atlantic Provinces’ Special Education Authority (APSEA) will elect a new president today. Voting by the more than 10,000 NSTU members is conducted electronically. Polls opened at 6:00 a.m. Polls will close at 9:00 p.m. (voting has been extended by 1 hour due to technical difficulties).

All NSTU members employed on the designated voting day are eligible to vote, including members on educational or deferred salary leave, or active reserve members. Substitute teachers and auxiliary members employed on election day are also eligible to vote.

Grant Frost and Paul Wozney are candidates for the second ballot. To become president of the NSTU, a candidate must win with a majority of votes (50 per cent + 1).

Three candidates were dropped following the first ballot, they are: Cherie Abriel, Liette Doucet and Shawn Hanifen.

The NSTU will announce the results of the vote this evening by 10:00 p.m., barring any further technical issues.