Mark Ramsankar elected as new President-Designate of Canadian Teachers’ Federation

Mark Ramsankar elected as new President-Designate of Canadian Teachers’ Federation

July 15, 2016

MONTRÉAL – Delegates attending the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) Annual General Meeting in Montréal have elected today Mark Ramsankar, of The Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA), as the new President-Designate. Ramsankar will take over the presidency at the end of CTF President Heather Smith’s term in July 2017.

Mark Ramsankar was elected president of the ATA in 2013 following two terms as vice-president. Since 1986, he has served Alberta teachers. Ramsankar currently serves in his fifth term as a vice-president of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation where he chairs the CTF Advisory Committee on Aboriginal Education. While representing teachers in Alberta and across Canada, he continues to focus on developing meaningful relationships among teachers, education leaders and colleagues from the provincial, national and international education community.

In addition to Ramsankar elected as President-Designate, other teacher leaders were elected for a year-long term on the CTF Executive Committee. Here’s the CTF Executive Committee for 2016-2017:

Heather Smith, President
Mark Ramsankar, President-Designate (The Alberta Teachers’ Association)
James Dinn (Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers’ Association)
Norman Gould (The Manitoba Teachers' Society)
Francine LeBlanc-Lebel, (Ontario Teachers' Federation)
Shelley Morse, (Nova Scotia Teachers Union)

Founded in 1920, the Canadian Teachers’ Federation is a national alliance of provincial and territorial teacher organizations that represent over 241,000 elementary and secondary school teachers across Canada. CTF is also a member of Education International.@@CanTeachersFed



Heather Smith, CTF President

Media contact:

Francine Filion, CTF Communications Director,
Office: 613-688-4314, or cell: 613-899-4247

<< Previous Next >>